Women religious in Zimbabwe have a regional flavor after partnering with the Association of Consecrated Women  in Eastern and Central Africa (ACWECA). ACWECA  was founded in 1974 as AMECEA Sisters before it was transformed to ACWECA to accommodate congregations from other national conferences. Member countries include Eritrea, Kenya, Malawi, Sudan, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda,  Zambia and Zimbabwe as an associate member with effect from 1 September 2017. The secretariat is based in Kenya. The purpose of the organisation is to promote the vitality of Religious life in Africa through their national associations with approximately a total of 30 000 sisters from 282 Congregations.

The main objectives being that of the organisation are

. Formation and leadership

. Family and Youth

. Justice, Peace, and Integrity of Creation

. Organisational Development of ACWECA.

Zimbabwe has 24 women congregations working in the country’s eight dioceses where they serve in different capacities in education, health, social work, pastoral work, administration and other areas. These include Sisters of the Infant Jesus (SJI), Sisters of the Sacred Heart, Missionary Sisters of the  Precious Blood, Sisters of Our Lady of Africa (SOLA), Congregation of Jesus/Maryward Sisters, Dominican Sisters, Missionary Sisters of the Sacred Heart, Missionary Daughters of Calvary, Servants of Mary the Queen, Handmaids of our lady of Mount Carmel, Franciscan Missionaries for Southern Africa, Franciscan Missionaries of the Divine Motherhood, Little Children of Our Blessed Lady, Little Company of Mary, Poor Clare Sisters, Sisters of Charity, Religious Sisters of the Sacred Heart of Mary, Sisters of Our Lady of Sorrows, Missionaries of Charity, Presentation Sisters of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Carmelite Nuns, Sisters of the Holy Cross, International Medical Association, Sisters of Nazareth, Mary Knoll Sisters, Sisters of the Notre Dame, Sisters of Our Lady of Africa.

Leave a Reply